McCall Point

I was on my way to Eastern Washington for Mother’s day and decided to break up the long drive with a hike. It was early and there were only 4 or 5 cars in the parking lot. It was a little chilly so I layered up.

The flowers were beautiful and the sun was warm! The higher I climbed the more prominent Mt. Adams was across the gorge. About half way up I started to regret the base layer I was wearing. My legs were heating up with every step.

I stopped to changed my settings on my camera and almost stepped onto, what I am assuming was, a bull snake. The only snake I can identify is a rattle snake, which it was not. It was about 3ft long and a couple inches around. I didn’t get a good look at the head, only the tail before it quickly slithered away. It scared me half to death, but I got a good laugh out of it once it was over.

At the top I had views of both Hood and Adams to myself. It is at this point I strip down to my skivvies, freeing all the heat trapped on my legs. I quickly put my hiking pants back on, sans base layer.  This, my friends, felt amazing!

On my hike I saw more lizards than people. However when I got back to the trailhead around 10 am there were tons of people about to start the hike. More than I had passed on the entire hike. So get out early if you want to beat the crowds!

Leave a Reply

